Riding and Pictures

I’ve always loved taking pictures, usually I always have a camera in my pocket, in the car, or even in my lunch bag going to work. When I started riding my bike I would carry my Pentax point n shoot with me always ready to take a picture.

Recently I had a opportunity to upgrade myself to a Canon DSLR camera. I didn’t hesitate not for the deal I got it for. The camera is a Canon EOS Rebel T3 with a EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens wide angle lens and a EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom Lens. Years ago I had a Pentax K100 SLR which I loved and used for many years, but then with life it drifted away and the digital point and shoots came along. With riding and taking pictures I got the bug for a better camera and my wish was answered.

I still had the camera bag from when I had the old Pentax and everything fit nicely in there, even the filters I had for the Pentax lenses fit the new lenses. Now there was one problem, the camera bag wouldn’t fit in my saddle bag, it was just to big and bulky. So I was still left with how to carry the camera with me on my bike.

The search began, it took me a while but finally I found something that looked like it was going to work out perfectly.

My answer came in the form of the Case Logic SLRC-205 SLR Camera Sling.

It has been an answer to all my needs for carrying my camera with me when riding my bike. The camera fits in the main bag with the telephoto lens mounted on it and a side pocket for a second lens. There are numerous other little pockets for carrying spare batteries, memory cards, and other small items. The best part of this is the bag wears as a sling so I can have it strapped across my back while riding. Even with the camera in it the weight is negligible. The bag had a strap that goes around the waist to snug the bag to you so it doesn’t move around.

The other nice part about the bag is that it is compact enough to fit in my saddle bag with the camera in it if need be.

 

Case Logic SLRC-205 SLR Camera Sling (Black)

 

With the cool weather hopefully coming soon and the pasing of the summer storms I’m looking forward to some longer rides now that I am getting used to my bike and taking some photo’s.

4 thoughts on “Riding and Pictures

  1. very cool! keep carrying around your camera and taking those photos!

  2. earthrooster says:

    That looks a lot like my camera bag. I got it several years ago but it’s great for keeping in the car, wearing while hiking, or sticking it in the side or top case on my bike. Very handy!

    • floridaeagle says:

      It has been a great camera bag, like you say it is very handy and carrying it while, walking biking, or anything else the bag even when full of gear feels very comfortable.

Leave a comment